Home

Daisy Giles is a 22-year-old Minnesota native whose paintings speak to the eccentricities of femininity and to the ever-present line between sexuality and sensuality that women of color must carefully walk. She has tapped into the part of the visual art world that is most neglected: the part, in which diversity makes it to the canvas to forever be studied, acknowledged and prized. “ I wanted to fill a gap that I found in American art. I felt that women of color weren’t represented in that beautiful way. I wanted women of color to seem themselves represented as beautiful, as sensual, as every wonderful thing in artwork.” Although having realized her purpose in the art world, Daisy’s professional journey as an artist only began 2 years ago. “Art is in my blood. My mom is a painter, so are my uncle and grandmother. But I always saw painting as a hobby a year away from college graduation I decided to pursue art full time.”

Leave a Reply

